skip to main content

Takács Quartet

Sunday, February 18, 2024
3:30pm to 5:30pm
Add to Cal
Beckman Auditorium
  • Public Event
"Even in the most exuberant passages, in the most intricate webs of superimposed rhythms, the Takács beguile the ear with their incisive phrasing, their consistency, and their sense of detail." – Diapason

Students at the Franz Liszt Academy in Budapest (including founding cellist András Fejér) formed the Takács Quartet in 1975, and soon won prizes at major European competitions. The Takács became the first string quartet to be awarded the Wigmore Hall Medal (2014) and also the first string quartet to be inducted into Gramophone's Hall of Fame (2012). The quartet members are Christoffersen Faculty Fellows at the University of Colorado, Boulder.


  • Haydn – Quartet in B-flat Major, Op. 76, No. 4, "Sunrise"
  • Bartók – Quartet No. 2 in A minor, Op. 17
  • Beethoven – Quartet in E minor, Op. 59, No. 2, "Razumovsky"



Founded in 1904 by Alice Coleman (later Alice Coleman Batchelder), the Coleman Chamber Music Association is one of the oldest organizations in the United States dedicated to the presentation, understanding, and enjoyment of chamber music.

See the Coleman website for the full list of 2023-2024 concerts.

For more information, please contact Coleman Chamber Music Association by phone at 626-793-4191 or by email at or visit the Coleman Association website.
$60, $55, $45, $35; discounts available for youth, Caltech/JPL, and series buyers